International Brownie Uniform Illustrations

Dearest blog reader(s),

I’d like to ask a big favour. I’ve been messing around with my beloved Bamboo graphics tablet and I’ve come up with an idea. Do you remember the charts and paper dolls of our childhood which showed the Brownie uniforms from around the world? Well, I was thinking of coming up with a modern version as a free resource for Guiders. I’ve had a try with the French WAGGGS associations and the result is in the pdf below. If you could please take a look and tell me what you think?

French Brownie Uniforms

My idea is to create a number of pages for various countries that could be used on their own, as a group in a booklet or even just letting you use individual illustrations to decorate your own resources.  I was just planning on just illustrating Brownies at the moment as I feel that Guides might prefer looking at photos.  I’ll probably do some East Asian Countries next then some Central/Southern Africa rotating geographical regions to stave off boredom- if anyone would find them useful?

If you know any fellow Guiders who might this of interest, please feel free to pass it along. If the response is positive, I’ll publish perhaps the first 4-5 sets here in a few weeks. If you think it’s a dreadful idea, please also let me know so I can use my IT time for something less constructive :)

Many thanks- Lorna x.

5 thoughts on “International Brownie Uniform Illustrations

  1. Thanks very much, Nicola for looking and getting back to me so quickly! Much appreciated
    Lovely comments always welcomed :) (but if anyone out there doesn’t like it- do let me know and why)

  2. You drew those? I have little to no skills at drawing so I am just in awe!

    These would definitely we an amazing resource to have and i’ve have to make them a laminated booklet so the girls didn’t wreck the pictures. They would be great to refer to when having World Guiding discussions or meetings.

    The only thing is, I don’t really understand the four different uniforms when the heading is Brownies of France, and the age groups cross over. I’m sure it’s just that I need sleep, but could you explain it to me.

    This will definitely web an amazing resource for Guides if you decide to continue! I can send you photos of Australian uniform if you need them.

  3. Hi, welcome to my humble blog and extra points for coming all the way from Canada!
    Thank you very much for the positive feedback on the drawings. And for pointing out that the explanations on the page weren’t that user friendly.

    I’ll point you to wiki as that’s my main source of information before hunting on the local association/ local unit websites. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scouting_and_Guiding_in_France

    Basically, Guiding and Scouting in Europe is really fragmented in some countries. France, Germany, Luxemburg, Spain, Sweden and Denmark have lots of associations, some not covered by WAGGGS or WOSM. This is often for religious reasons (usually different Christian churches). So these countries often have a federation that joins WAGGGS with a number of seperate associations within it. France has 5 associations within Scoutisme Francais. They all have their own uniforms, badges, age ranges, section names etc. The EEdF (not pictured) are inter-religions/non-denominational. The SGdF are Catholic. The EEUdF are Protestant. The EEIF is Jewish. The SM are Muslim.But I believe anyone can join any of them so long as you don’t mind the ethos. So the SGdF still has Priests giving mass at camp. The EEIF keeps kosher and Shabbat at meetings/camp.

    Let me know if there’s anything that still isn’t clear. It’s my aim to use these illustrations to educate/inform.

    Also, please take a look at my new style illustrations. What do you think?

Leave a Reply

